My Facial Skin Care Routine

Hello everyone! Hope you’ve all been doing well. ^^v

Recently, I’ve been trying to make better lifestyle changes, like working out more, and choosing healthier food options (slight struggle, ngl!). Another one of those changes is maintaining a daily skin care routine.

Skin care, you ask? Yes, skin care, I say! Taking care of your outside is just as important as taking care of your inside. Our skin is our largest organ, and our first line of defense against environmental factors, so we need to do our best to keep it healthy and strong. Taking care of all of your skin is important, but for this post, I am going to focus on the face.

Your basic facial skin care regiment should include a cleanser, toner, serum/oil, and moisturizer, based upon your particular skin type. There are always going to be variants, or extra steps you may want to include in your regiment (such as exfoliating), but these four will be your basic starting point. If you’re not sure where to start, I’d recommend the Find Your Skin Type: Skin Quiz over at ReneeRouleau.com. You will answer 11 questions, and based on your answers, you skin type will be determined, and you will be provided a recommended routine.

(Of course, their particular products are being recommended for your skin care routine, but you can still take the recommended list, and find similar products from other brands, to create your skin care regiment.)

My current daily skin care routine are all products from Tarte. (This may sound like an ad for Tarte, but I promise it’s not! #notanad XD)

tartedaily

I use the above pictured products twice a day. First, I start off with the Marine Boosting Mist, which is part of the Rainforest of the Sea collection. This is a 4 in 1 spray, that acts as a primer, makeup setter, hydrating mist, and a refresher mist, to help perk up your skin throughout the day. When I cleanse my face, this would be my 3rd step, after exfoliating & cleaning, then toning. (I only cleanse 2 to 3 times a week because when cleansing daily, my skin would get too dried out, so I’ve modified my routine to what works best for my skin.)

After misting, I’ll apply the Maracuja C-brighter Eye Treatment. Composed of maracuja (passion fruit), Vitamins A, C, & E, and other botanicals, this eye cream helps to add extra hydration, as well as firming and brightening. Let me tell you, my dark circles need all the help they can get! With a little on your fingers, just gently dab under your eyes, and along the brow bone.

Once the eye cream is on, I will apply Maracuja Oil to the rest of my face. You may think it’s weird to put an oil on your face, but you use such a small amount, that you aren’t drenching your face in oil. Just a few drops is all it takes, and you just pat on, to get some extra hydration. A bonus about Maracuja Oil is that it’s a multi-purpose item. Aside from using on your face, you can also use on dry cuticles, help condition your hair’s split ends, or use on any rough patches of skin, to help soften.

After applying the oil, I will finish up my routine by using the Drink of H20 Hydrating Boost moisturizing gel, which is also from the Rainforest of the Sea collection. As this is a gel, the good thing is that you don’t have to use a whole lot, as it spreads smoothly and evenly, leaving your skin super moisturized.

I have really come to love Tarte products, because not only do they actually work, they are also cruelty-free and made with natural ingredients; no parabens or other synthetic materials included. Major win!

Leave a comment