Testing Thursdays – Test Subject 0001: Neutrogena Body Oil in Light Sesame Formula

Recently, my skin has started going through its seasonal change. When autumn and winter come along, my skin gets really dried out, sometimes taking on the appearance of a dried out desert floor…ok, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but you know what I mean. The cold air just draws out any moisture in my skin, leaving it super dry, and sometimes, in places like my knuckles, the skin becomes chapped and cracked, which can be painful.

In order to hopefully prevent this annual irritant, I started looking into body moisturizers and lotions, when I came across Neutrogena’s Body Oil in my local Ulta Beauty.

img_4978

I’ve never used a body oil before, but as I got to reading the back of the bottle, I thought I’d give it a try, and boy am I glad I did!

img_4979

As you can see from the description, this product states that the oil glides on easily, leaving skin feeling soft and silky, giving a sheer moisturizing experience, and I can confirm that this is correct!! I always reach for this after my shower; as the directions state, I’ll put it on while my skin is still slightly damp, and it really does only takes a little amount. As the oil interacts with the water, it glides over more of your skin surface than you think it will. It also absorbs really well, so there’s no oily residue, only soft and silky skin. If you let your skin dry completely, you will have to use a little more of the product, but you will still get the same end result. The light sesame scent is also really nice; it’s not overpowering, and when used after a nighttime shower or bath, its calming and relaxing scent will help you nod off to sleep in no time!

I’m not the best when it comes to rating things; I either like them, or I don’t. XD If I did have to rate on a scale of 1 to 5, I’d probably give it 4 to 4.5 stars. I like the product, and it does what it says it does; my only negative with it is the packaging. The bottle is topped with a snap-cap; you pour out the product like normal, but when you go to turn the bottle right side up again, product always leaks out, and drips down the bottle. No matter how careful, or how quick I try to be, there is always oil running down the bottle, and I’m constantly cleaning the bottle, and wiping off the sink, where the bottle sits. If it was packaged with a pump instead, that’d be a five-star product for me! Regardless of that, I’d still recommend that you try this product, if it sounds like something you may like. The promise of a working product greatly outweighs a minor inconvenience.

Leave a comment